#Blogoween // Top 5 Books About Witches

Hey guys!
So today’s blog post as part of #Blogoween is all about our favourite witchy books. As it’s a top five list, we did five each as usual. This tag was created by Kaleena at Reader Voracious.

  1. The Bear and the Nightingale by Katherine Arden
    A feminist historical fiction set in the 14th Century Russian wilderness, Vasya, branded a witch by her townspeople, grows into her power to defeat evils from Russian mythology. One of my all time favourite trilogies!
  2. Circe by Madeline Miller
    Madeline Miller’s account of the witch of the Odyssey, Circe is a Greek mythology retelling like no other. Circe is often referred to as the original witch, and we both loved reading about her learn just what she could do with her powers. Again, a super feminist novel full of beautiful mythology.

  3. The Wicked Deep by Shea Ernshaw
    Two centuries ago, three girls were drowned in the town of Sparrow after being accused of witchcraft. Now, every summer, the three of them return, stealing the bodies of local girls in order to lure boys into the harbour to share their fates. A really creepy witch story full of plot twists that kept me on the edge of my seat.
  4. Wicked Like a Wildfire by Lana Popović
    The women in Iris and Malina’s family all have a ‘gleam’ – a power in which they can manipulate beauty. When their mother goes missing, they must unearth the truth about the powers she’s forced them to keep hidden for so long. Sibling dynamics, a family curse and a unique setting (Montenegro) what’s not to love about this book?wlawf4
  5. The Language of Thorns by Leigh Bardugo
    A set of stories all about magic set in the much loved Grishaverse, these tales were full of all kinds of witchcraft. Perfect for fans of Six of Crows/Shadow and Bone, or for people new to Leigh’s books – this is a set of stunning, unique fairytales in their own right.language of thorns
  6. The Hollow Girl by Hillary Monahan
    We follow the story of Bethan, a Romani who lives with her grandmother, Drina and is training to be her ward (in Wales!) Whilst selling her grandmother’s herbs and spells in the nearby market, Bethan meets Martyn, a half-Roma guy who immediately makes her feel something she hasn’t felt before. However, one night, Bethan is (TW) raped by fellow Romani, Silas and his sidekicks.
  7. The Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco
    When Tea accidentally raises her brother from the dead, she realises that her form of witchcraft is different to the rest of her family’s, and begins to train under an older Bone Witch. A really dark witchy story full of morally grey characters and twists!
  8. the witch doesn’t burn in this one by Amanda Lovelace
    ‘The witch: supernaturally powerful, inscrutably independent, and now – indestructible.’ We obviously had to include some feminist poetry in this list!
  9. Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones
    When Sophie catches the attention of the Witch of the Waste, she finds herself under a spell which transforms her into an old woman. The only way she can break it is through the wizard Howl. I’m sure we’ve all heard of this one, whether through the book or through the film!
  10. Labyrinth Lost by Zoraida Cordova
    Alex is a Bruja with incredible powers; the only problem is, she hates magic. At her Deathday celebration, she casts a spell to rid herself of her power – and instead, ends up making her family disappear. Labyrinth Lost is a witchy journey story filled with culture and magic.lots of love,
    newlogolg copy

9 thoughts on “#Blogoween // Top 5 Books About Witches

  1. I’m definitely interested in reading The Bone Witch now. It has been on my To Buy pile forever, but I’ve just never gotten round to it. Also, so many beautiful books on this. I’m currently researching for my witchy WIP, so this is definitely getting bookmarked. Thanks for posting ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s